Ghostwriting

You know that feeling you get when your editor sends your manuscript back to you and the tasks ahead seem impossible? Or how about when you’ve outlined this story to death, but the blank page in front of you is mocking you, demeaning you, insisting you can’t do this. What do you do when you’ve gotten 30,000 words into your manuscript and you hit a roadblock? I can help with all of that. And if you want to be a writer, but you don’t necessarily want to be writing, I can help with that, too. (Don’t worry, I won’t tell anyone. And I certainly won’t judge you.)

Below, I’ve answered a few questions you might have. If you have others, please reach out to me.

Why would I need a ghostwriter?

  • To knock out a first draft, getting the hardest part out of the way for you.
  • To fill in the gaps when you’re stuck.
  • To implement an editor’s suggestions when you’re unable to think of how you might do so.
  • In many cases, a ghostwriter is like an editor on speed… they take the next step in editing by implementing the suggestions themselves. This isn’t standard practice when you hire an editor, though, so if you expect them to do so, ask them upfront if they do.

Isn’t that the same as editing?

  • Ghostwriting is not the same as editing, although the two are similar. An editor who does the actual rewriting and revisions she suggested has stepped into the role of ghostwriter. Few are willing to do so, and even fewer do so without additional compensation. (See Editors 101: What An Editor Will and Will Not Do For Your Writing)

How does it work?

Like any service provided to you, different freelancers or organizations will have different approaches. I can only offer you my approach.

• You’ll contact me with the terms of your project (word count and any other specifics), and I’ll draft a quote that will include a rough timeline and cost estimate.

• We’ll negotiate the terms of the project. When we’re in agreement, I’ll send you a contract and invoice.

• Once the contract is signed and a deposit is made, I’ll write, you’ll relax.

• I’ll send you a first draft for review. Take your time. If you have revisions you’d like me to make, be specific. Make all of your “high-level” requests at this stage.

• With your revision requests in hand, I’ll revise the document and send you a final draft. While this is considered the final draft, if you have a minor change you’d like me to make, you’ll have 30 days after the project’s completion to request such revisions.

NOTE: For the purpose of revision requests, the definition of a minor revision is any change that can be made using Word’s find and replace function without compromising the coherence of the work in its entirety.

• Full payment is due the same day as the project’s completion. Half is due upfront.

How much does it cost?

Again, different strokes for different folks. My rates are as follows:
If the chart below doesn’t cover what you need, ask me for a quote.

 

Something to Talk About pricing

